Creative programming in the wake of Modernism (OER)

Screenshot

Description

In this creative programming OER we engage with basic, familiar objects of the digital such as the pixel using JavaScript and p5.js. On our exploration we learn to appreciate how complexity is composed out of simple, elementary starting points into shapes, arrangement, colours, graphical user interfaces, data, and manipulations of the interfaces which bridge the insides and outsides of the computer. While doing so, we will touch upon shared Modernist 20th century history and possibilities of arts and technology. What might be its implications for "post-internet art" and "new aesthetics”?

Goals

This course is a product of the teaching research project "Medienpraxiswissen" (http://medienpraxiswissen.rub.de). As an Open Educational Resource, it serves to make a course from the project accessible to other teachers. The course is designed for media practice teaching. The aim of the course is to familiarise students with the the media, technical, social and economic aspects of (visions of) the metaverse.

Tags & Topics

IT Metaverse OER

Autor_in

Mace Ojala

Department

Information Science & Technology

Format

Course

Lizenzangabe

CC BY-NC
CC BY-NC

Reuse as OER expressly permitted: This work and its contents are - unless otherwise indicated - licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. Please attribute according to the TULLU rule as follows: "Creative programming in the wake of Modernism" by Mace Ojala, licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. Excluded from the license are differently licensed contents, works, and creations.

Date of publication

Mon, 08. Jan 2024 (aktualisiert am Tue, 27. Feb 2024)

Language of content

English

Creative programming in the wake of Modernism (OER)

Screenshot

Beschreibung

In diesem OER für kreatives Programmieren beschäftigen wir uns mit grundlegenden, vertrauten digitalen Objekten wie dem Pixel, indem wir JavaScript und p5.js verwenden. Auf unserer Erkundung lernen wir zu schätzen, wie Komplexität aus einfachen, elementaren Ausgangspunkten in Formen, Anordnungen, Farben, grafische Benutzeroberflächen, Daten und Manipulationen der Schnittstellen entsteht, die die Innen- und Außenseiten des Computers verbinden. Dabei werden wir auf die gemeinsame Geschichte der modernen Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts und die Möglichkeiten von Kunst und Technologie eingehen. Welche Auswirkungen könnte dies für die "post-internet art" und die "new aesthetics" haben?

Ziele

Dieser Kurs ist ein Produkt des Lehrforschungsprojekts "Medienpraxiswissen" (http://medienpraxiswissen.rub.de). Als Open Educational Resource dient er dazu, einen Kurs aus dem Projekt für andere Lehrkräfte zugänglich zu machen. Der Kurs ist für den Unterricht in Medienpraxis konzipiert. Das Ziel des Kurses ist es, die Studierenden mit den medialen, technischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekten von (Visionen des) Metaverse vertraut zu machen.

Tags & Themen

Informatik Metaverse OER

Autor_in

Mace Ojala

Fachbereich

Informatik & Technik

Format

Kurs

Lizenzangabe

CC BY-NC
CC BY-NC

Weiternutzung als OER ausdrücklich erlaubt: Dieses Werk und dessen Inhalte sind - sofern nicht anders angegeben - lizenziert unter CC BY-NC 4.0. Nennung gemäß TULLU-Regel bitte wie folgt: "Creative programming in the wake of Modernism" von Mace Ojala, lizenziert unter CC BY-NC 4.0. Ausgenommen von der Lizenz sind anders lizenzierte Inhalte, Werke und Arbeiten.

Datum der Veröffentlichung

Mo, 08. Jan 2024 (aktualisiert am Mi, 21. Feb 2024)

Sprache des Angebots

English