We are VR

About this Content OER

Virtual realities are already being used in a variety of contexts, ranging from games to engineering and education, to deliver specific experiences. The immersiveness of these user experiences is enabled by their emphasized physicality as well as the (meticulous) documentation of the users' movements. It is often implied that virtual reality (VR) constructs and enables users to experience boundless immersive environments.

In the block seminar held in the winter semester 21/22, different aspects of VR technology were explored from both theoretical and practical perspectives. The question of how user-environment relationships are constructed and mediated within VR environments and this area is negotiated outside VR was explored. Trying out different VR applications in conjunction with theoretical approaches formed the basis of discussion in the events. In addition, media technology tools such as photogrammetry were explored to gain insights into how virtual 3D objects can be modeled from real objects and implemented in VR environments. Against this background, this block seminar traced, discussed, and problematized the possibilities and limitations of VR in different application contexts. The block seminar was held in hybrid format (online/present).

This project was one of the winning:in projects of the 28th round of the 5x5000 competition.

Goals

  • theoretical and practical examination of VR technology
  • exploration of tools for the creation of virtual 3D objects
  • examination of the possibilities and limitations of VR on the context of universities
  • Author
    Janou Feikens
    Paul Leon Hoffstiepel
  • Faculty
    Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Format
    Course
  • Licence

    Further use as OER permitted: This work and its contents are - unless otherwise stated - licensed under CC BY 4.0. Citation according to TULLU rule as follows: "We are VR" by Janou Feikens and Paul Leon Hoffstiepel, licensed under CC BY 4.0.

  • Date of Publication
    Tue, 04/23/2024 - 15:18 (updated on Tue, 04/23/2024 - 15:20)

We are VR

Beschreibung

Virtuelle Realitäten werden bereits heute in unterschiedlichen Kontexten genutzt, die von Games bis hin zu Ingenieurwesen und Bildungseinrichtungen reichen, um bestimmte Erfahrungen zu vermitteln. Der Immersionsgrad dieser Nutzererfahrungen wird hierbei durch ihre betonte Körperlichkeit sowie die (akribische) Dokumentation der Bewegungen der Nutzenden ermöglicht. Oft wird impliziert, dass Virtual Reality (VR) grenzenlose immersive Umgebungen konstruiert und erfahrbar macht.

In dem Blockseminar, das im Wintersemester 21/22 durchgeführt wurde, wurden unterschiedliche Aspekte der VR-Technologie sowohl aus theoretischer als auch aus praktischer Sicht untersucht. Es wurde der Frage nachgegangen, wie User-Environment-Beziehungen innerhalb VR-Umgebungen konstruiert und vermittelt werden und dieser Bereich außerhalb VR verhandelt wird. Das Ausprobieren verschiedener VR-Anwendungen bildete in Zusammenhang mit theoretischen Ansätzen die Diskussionsgrundlage der Veranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus wurden medientechnisch mit Tools wie z.B. der Photogrammetrie auseinandersetzen, um Einblicke zu gewinnen, wie virtuelle 3D-Objekte aus realen Gegenständen modelliert und in VR-Umgebungen implementiert werden können. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde in diesem Blockseminar die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von VR in unterschiedlichen Anwendungskontexten nachgezeichnet, diskutiert und problematisiert. Das Blockseminar fand in Hybrid-Format (Online/Präsenz) statt.

Dieser Kurs war eines der Gewinner:innenprojekte der 28. Runde des Wettbewerbs 5x5000.

Ziele

  • theoretische und praktische Betrachtung der VR-Technologie
  • Auseinandersetzung mit Tools zur Erstellung von virtuellen 3D-Objekten
  • Untersuchung der Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von VR

Autor_in

Janou Feikens
Paul Leon Hoffstiepel

Fachbereich

Geistes- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Format

Kurs

Lizenzangabe

CC-BY
CC BY

Weiternutzung als OER ausdrücklich erlaubt: Dieses Werk und dessen Inhalte sind - sofern nicht anders angegeben - lizenziert unter CC BY 4.0. Nennung gemäß TULLU-Regel bitte wie folgt: "We are VR" von Janou Feikens und Paul Leon Hoffstiepel, lizenziert unter CC BY 4.0.

Datum der Veröffentlichung

Di, 02. Aug 2022 (aktualisiert am Mo, 26. Sep 2022)

Sprache des Angebots

Deutsch