Software and the sonic subconscious of the digital (OER)

Notebook distorted

Description

In composer Edgàrd Varese's words "music is organized sound". But what else can be organized from sound than music? Pleasant and annoying noises certainly, and perhaps time itself? And what æsthetic, phenomenological and political role do technical media such as software code and algorithms, Spotify, MIDI, and the MP3 play in this work of organization? In this praxis oriented OER we will use synthesizers, recorders and specialized programming languages for sound (p5.sound, Pure Data) to explore and reproduce familiar sonic phenomena of the digital condition.

Goals

This course is a product of the teaching research project "Medienpraxiswissen" (http://medienpraxiswissen.rub.de). As an Open Educational Resource, it serves to make a course from the project accessible to other teachers. The course is designed for media practice teaching. The aim of the course is to familiarise students with the the media, technical, social and economic aspects of (visions of) the metaverse.

Tags & Topics

Metaverse Moodle OER

Autor_in

Mace Ojala

Department

Information Science & Technology

Format

Course

Lizenzangabe

CC BY-NC
CC BY-NC

Reuse as OER expressly permitted: This work and its contents are - unless otherwise indicated - licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. Please attribute according to the TULLU rule as follows: "Software and the sonic subconscious of the digital" by Mace Ojala, licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. Excluded from the license are differently licensed contents, works, creations and quotes.

Date of publication

Mon, 08. Jan 2024 (aktualisiert am Tue, 27. Feb 2024)

Language of content

English

Software and the sonic subconscious of the digital (OER)

Über das Lernangebot OER

Nach den Worten des Komponisten Edgàrd Varese ist "Musik organisierter Klang". Aber was sonst kann aus Klang organisiert werden als Musik? Angenehme und lästige Geräusche und vielleicht die Zeit selbst? Und welche ästhetische, phänomenologische und politische Rolle spielen technische Medien wie Softwarecodes und Algorithmen, Spotify, MIDI und MP3 bei dieser Organisationsarbeit? In dieser praxisorientierten OER werden wir Synthesizer, Aufnahmegeräte und spezielle Programmiersprachen für Sound (p5.sound, Pure Data) verwenden, um vertraute klangliche Phänomene des digitalen Zustands zu erforschen und zu reproduzieren.

Die Ziele

Dieser Kurs ist ein Produkt des Lehrforschungsprojekts "Medienpraxiswissen" (http://medienpraxiswissen.rub.de). Als Open Educational Resource dient er dazu, einen Kurs aus dem Projekt für andere Lehrkräfte zugänglich zu machen. Der Kurs ist für den Unterricht in Medienpraxis konzipiert. Das Ziel des Kurses ist es, die Studierenden mit den medialen, technischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekten von (Visionen des) Metaverse vertraut zu machen.

Tags und Themen

  • Autor_in
    Mace Ojala
  • Fachbereich
    Informatik & Technik
  • Format
    Kurs
  • Lizenz/Rechte

    Weiternutzung als OER ausdrücklich erlaubt: Dieses Werk und dessen Inhalte sind - sofern nicht anders angegeben - lizenziert unter CC BY-NC 4.0. Nennung gemäß TULLU-Regel bitte wie folgt: "Software and the sonic subconscious of the digital" von Mace Ojala, lizenziert unter CC BY-NC 4.0. Ausgenommen von der Lizenz sind anders lizenzierte Inhalte, Werke und Arbeiten sowie Zitate.

  • Datum der Veröffentlichung
    Mi., 24.04.2024 - 14:35 (aktualisiert am Mi., 24.04.2024 - 14:38)